Álvaro Siza Vieira

He currently works as an architect in the city of Porto.

He has received a number of Awards, designedly: in 1988, Alvar Aalto Foundation Gold Medal, the Harvard University Prince of Wales Award and the European Architecture Award from the European Community Comission / Mies Van der Rohe Fundation. In 1992 he received the Pritzker Architecture Prize from the Hyatt Foundation in Chicago for his work. In 1998, won the Praemium Imperiale from the Japanese Art Association of Tokyo. In 2001, received the Prize from the Wolf Foundation in Israel. In 2002, he received the Gold Lion Award (best project) from the Venice Biennal and the Vitruvio 2002 Award from the National Fine Art Museum of Buenos Aires.


He is member of the American Institute of Fine Arts and Science and is an "Honorary Fellow" of the Royal Institute of British Architects.


1981 - Prize of the International Association of Art critics / Secretary of State for Culture AICA/SEC 

1988 - Gold Metal of the College of Architects of Madrid

1988 - Prize for contemporary Architecture Mies van der Rohe

1992 - Pritzker Prize, from the Hyatt Foundation, for the renovation project in the Chiado area, in Lisbon

1993 - National Architecture Award

1996 - Secil Prize

1998 - Alvar Aalto Medal

1998 - Prince of Gales Award at Harvard University

1998 - Imperial Prize of Japan, Praemium Imperiale

2000 - Secil Prize

2001 - Wolf Arts Award

2002 - Golden Lion for the Best Project - Venice Architecture Biennale

2005 - Urbanism Special Grand Prize of France

2006 - Secil Prize

2008 - Royal Gold Medal for Architecture, by the Royal Institute of British Architects

2010 - Luso-Spanish art and Culture Award

2012 - Golden Lion for lifetime achievement - Venice Architecture Biennale

2015 - "Vida e Obra" Award from the Portuguese Society of Authors